Stuhr Building Wins National Architecture Award

The Stuhr Building has been named one of the winners of the 2017 Modernism in America Awards by Docomomo, an organization dedicated to highlighting the diversity of important modern buildings and sites throughout the United States.

BVH Architects out of Lincoln, Nebraska, were given a "Citation of Merit" by Docomomo for their renovation of the Stuhr Building, which reopened in 2015 after 18 months of renovation. They join buildings in Seattle, Boston, Los Angeles and other cities, with only 9 national winners in all.

When BVH started work on the Stuhr Building, there were two goals in mind: Update the building for the museum's many uses and stay true to the original architectural designs as created by world-famous architect Edward Durell Stone. In being honored for their work within the "modernism" aesthetic, BVH has created a work of significance on a national scale. For an organization like Stuhr Museum that is interested in preservation, this is a particularly gratifying award.

From their website
"[The Stuhr Building]...emphasize the importance of partnerships between owners, architects and the community coming together to save and reinvigorate architecture that at one point faced demolition. They highlight the best of preservation practiced where preservation often comes with complex financial requirements and the need to adapt or add to a project in order for the whole to remain viable. As modern architecture continues to age and face is paramount to recognize that these projects can be preserved in a meaningful and productive way that enhances their presence and value in their respective communities.

The Stuhr Building is open from 9 am - 5 pm Mondays - Saturdays and Noon - 5 pm on Sundays. For more information log onto or call (308) 385-5316.

Painting The Legacy Now Showing
Don't forget, the "Painting the Legacy of Nebraska" exhibit is showing in the Stuhr Building through Aug. 21. This show features over 120 paintings, at least one for each county in the State of Nebraska. More info is up at